Mothering Caroline Grace

learning how to be the mom of an angel

Remembering Her Sweet Soul

7 Comments

Caroline had a sweet demeanor.  She was such a content baby, never fussing as she was passed from person to person.  She loved to be cuddled and warm.  She loved snuggling with mommy and daddy.

As she grew, she became more alert and we got to know her beautiful blue-gray eyes.  She explored the world around her with those eyes, and loved taking in the sights when we moved from room to room.  We took pictures at home that captured Caroline’s alert moments in a way that no one else could.  However, our amateur photos had lighting and color issues that could use a professional’s touch.

We decided to have a photographer professionally edit our favorite photos taken at home.  She went beyond our expectations by removing Caroline’s feeding tube from some of her pictures.  Caroline hated that feeding tube.  The edited pictures now capture Caroline’s free spirit in a way that you could not see with that plastic tube taped to her cheek or her chin.

 
I am very protective of my pictures of Caroline.  Second to my memories, they are the firmest link to my time with the sweetest baby in the world.  I find myself looking at this picture often every day, still amazed at the beautiful miracle I was blessed to meet.  Through this photograph I can feel the love in her eyes and remember how it felt to stroke her hair and kiss her forehead.

Every day apart is impossibly hard, but I am so honored to be Caroline’s mom and wouldn’t trade it for anything.  Her sweet soul inspires me every moment of every day.

7 thoughts on “Remembering Her Sweet Soul

  1. Oh yay! So glad you got such a wonderful photographer and thus such a wonderful, beautiful picture of Caroline! Look at those EYES!!

    Like

  2. Thank you for sharing this sweet picture. I know I am protective of my boys’ pictures as well. What a beautiful baby 🙂

    Like

  3. I’m 18 weeks along and just learned that our sweet boy has Trisomy 13. He has a bilateral cleft palate, a mitral valve defect, an encephalocele at the back of his head, and a missing vermis of the cerebellum. I’m hoping he survives to birth so that I can hold him and kiss him for a while. My heart is broken. He is my 10th baby, my only one with a health issue. Thank you for sharing your story. This gives me some hope that maybe my baby will be born, too.

    Like

    • Katrina, I’m so sorry to hear that your son is facing those health issues. I am glad that you found hope in my blog and I hope that you do get the chance to spend as much time as possible with your little boy. Please feel free to email me if there’s ever anything I can do to help, even if you just need someone to listen who has faced what you are facing. I will be praying for you and your family.

      Like

  4. I just found your blog and am slowly making my way through.

    Caroline is absolutely beautiful.

    My heart goes out to your family for your loss.

    Like

Leave a Reply

